Applied Quantum Algorithms 
 
Contact

A Leiden University collaboration

Leiden-University.png
lion_logo_blue1800x1080.jpg

About us

aQa is a team of faculty, postdoctoral researchers, and students across the Leiden Institute of Physics (LION) the Leiden Institute for Advanced Computer Science (LIACS), the Leiden Institute for Chemistry (LIC), and the Leiden Mathematical Institute (MI). Please see below a list of members, along with personal research topics and contact emails.

Thomas O'Brien

Assistant Professor - LION

  • Quantum chemistry and simulation

  • Quantum error correction and mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

obrien@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Vedran Dunjko

Assistant Professor - LIACS

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Quantum heuristics

  • Near-term implementation

v.dunjko@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Thomas Bäck

Professor - LIACS

  • Natural computing

  • Optimization for quantum computing

  • Quantum-enhanced optimization

t.h.w.baeck@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Francesco Buda

Assistant Professor - LIC

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Hybrid algorithm development

  • Excited state chemistry

f.buda@lic.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Florian Neukart

Assistant Professor - LIACS and Principal Scientist - Volkswagen Group

  • Quantum optimization

  • Quantum annealing

  • Industrial applications

f.neukart@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Stéphanie van der Pas

Assistant Professor - MI

  • Quantum state tomography

  • Bayesian statistics

  • Causality

svdpas@math.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Marcello Caio

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum error correction

  • Machine learning

  • Topological phases of matter

caio@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Mathys Rennela

Postdoctoral Researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum-enhanced combinatorial optimization

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Near-term implementation

m.p.a.rennela@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Bruno Senjean

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Molecular embedding

  • Hybrid algorithm design

senjean@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Xavier Bonet-Monroig

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum error mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

bonet@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Alicja Dutkiewicz

Masters Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Quantum phase estimation

dutkiewicz@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Casper Gyurik

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum data analysis

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Quantum-enhanced Markov chain Monte Carlo

c.f.s.gyurik@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Yaroslav Herasymenko

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum transport

herasymenko@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Charles Moussa

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

c.moussa@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Michał Pacholski

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum transport

pacholski@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Stefano Polla

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementation

polla@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Cameron Price

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Reduced density matrix theory

  • Convex optimization

price@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Mark Steudtner

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Quantum simulation

  • Near-term implementation

steudtner@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Sheir Yarkoni

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

sheir.yarkoni@volkswagen.de