top of page

About us

aQa is a team of faculty, postdoctoral researchers, and students across the Leiden Institute of Physics (LION) the Leiden Institute for Advanced Computer Science (LIACS), the Leiden Institute for Chemistry (LIC), and the Leiden Mathematical Institute (MI). Please see below a list of members, along with personal research topics and contact emails.

Principal Investigators

shutterstock_1070441681.jpg
Vedran Dunjko - aQa Lead & Founder

Associate Professor - LIACS

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Quantum heuristics

  • Near-term implementation

v.dunjko@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

shutterstock_1447621178_small_edited.jpg

Evert van Nieuwenburg - aQa PI

Assistant Professor - LION

  • Machine Learning for Quantum Systems

  • Quantum Games

  • Simulation of Quantum Many-Body systems

e.p.l.van.nieuwenburg@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

IMG_20221018_115254.jpg
20150720_Jordi Tura (27)_b.jpg

Jordi Tura - aQa PI

Assistant Professor - LION

  • Quantum algorithms

  • Near-term implementations

  • Device-independent quantum information protocols

tura@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Alfons Laarman  - aQa PI

Assistant Professor - LIACS

  • Simulation of quantum computing

  • Parallel computing

  • Formal methods

a.w.laarman@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

d200x250.jfif
shutterstock_1070441681_small_edited_edited.jpg

Hao Wang- aQa PI

Assistant Professor - LIACS

  • Evolution strategies under uncertainty

  • Bayesian optimization

  • Natural computing for NISQ devices

h.wang@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Postdocs

Onur Danaci

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Quantum optimal control

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum machine learning

danaci@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

CROPPED-SAM_9820.JPG
shutterstock_1070441681_small_edited_edited.jpg
adrian_perez_salinas.jpeg
shutterstock_1070441681_small_edited_edited.jpg

Adrián Pérez-Salinas
 

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum simulations

perezsalinas@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Patrick Emonts
 

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Tensor Networks

  • Lattice Gauge Theories

  • Hamiltonian Quantum Field Theories

emonts@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

IMG_20220301_140119703_HDR_edited.jpg
Xavier Bonet-Monroig

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum error mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

bonet@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Jan Krzywda
 

Postdoctoral researcher - LIACS

  • Solid State Qubits

  • Quantum Control

  • Quantum Metrology

j.a.krzywda@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

jan_krzywda_2.jpg
Casper Gyurik

Postdoctoral researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum data analysis

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Quantum-enhanced Markov chain Monte Carlo

c.f.s.gyurik@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Edison Salazar Quezada

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Excited-state dynamics

  • Quantum (photo)chemistry and simulation

  • Near-term Applications

salazar@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Edison_salazar.jpeg
liubov_markovich.jpeg
Liubov Markovich

Postdoctoral researcher - LION

  • Quantum Filtering

  • Inverse Problems

  • Quantum Estimation

markovich@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Cem Unsal
 

Postdoctoral researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum-enhanced combinatorial optimization

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Near-term Applications

c.m.unsal@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

cem_unsal.jpg
tim_coopmans.jpg
Tim Coopmans

Postdoctoral researcher - LIACS

  • Classical Simulation of Noisy Systems

  • Quantum Error Correction

  • Stabilizer States

t.j.coopmans@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Vincent Croft
 

Postdoctoral researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • High Energy Physics

  • Near-term Applications

v.a.croft@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

vincent_croft.jpeg

PhD Students

Alicja Dutkiewicz

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Quantum phase estimation

dutkiewicz@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Stefano Polla

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementation

polla@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

David Dechant

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum algorithms

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum finance

dechant@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

aqa_picture_david_edited.jpg
Sebastiaan.jfif
Sebastiaan Brand

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Formal methods

  • Probabilistic and quantum systems

s.o.brand@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Waheeda Saib

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Near-term Implementations

w.b.saib@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

mengyao_hu.jpeg
Mengyao Hu

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum information processing

  • Tensor networks

  • Entanglement theory

Yaroslav Herasymenko

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum transport

herasymenko@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

eloic_valee.png
Eloïc Vallée 

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum information processing

  • Non-locality

  • Linear/Semi-definite programming

vallee@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Emiel Koridon

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum (photo)chemistry and simulation

  • Near-term applications

  • Hybrid quantum algorithms

emielkoridon@hotmail.com

Emiel_picture.jpg
yash_patel.jpg
Yash Patel

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum optimization

  • Quantum-enhanced combinatorial optimization

  • Industrial applications

y.j.patel@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Alice Barthe

External PhD Student - LION - CERN

  • Quantum algorithm for differential equations

  • Quantum Machine Learning for time series

  • Continuous Variable Quantum Computing

alice.barthe@cern.ch 

Website

alice_barthe_webpage.jpg
Kshiti_Sneh_Rai.jpeg
Kshiti Sneh Rai

PhD Student - LION

  • Tensor Networks

  • Quantum Algorithms

  • Quantum Information Theory

ksrai@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Simon Marshall

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Quantum Complexity Theory

  • Near-term Applications

s.c.marshall@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

simon_marshall.jpeg
Felix Frohnert

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Machine Learning for Quantum Systems

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementation

f.frohnert@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Marie Kempkes

External PhD Student - LIACS - VOLKSWAGEN

  • Quantum algorithms

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum Machine Learning

m.c.kempkes@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

jan_li.jpg
Jan Li

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum information processing

  • Tensor networks

  • Entanglement theory

janli@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Nurbolat Kenbayev

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term Applications

n.kenbayev@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

nurbolat_kenbayev.jpeg
ilse_kuijf.jpeg
Ilse Kuijf

PhD Student - LION

  • Solid State Qubits

  • Machine Learning for Quantum Systems

  • Quantum Control

kuijf@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Mahtab Yaghubi Rad

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Near-term applications

  • Topological Data Analysis

m.yaghubi.rad@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

mahtab_yaghubi_rad.jpeg
vasily_bokov.jpg
Vasily Bokov

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Supervised Quantum Machine Learning

  • Kernel Methods

  • Quantum Optimization Algorithms

  • Quantum Networks

v.bokov@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Andrii Kurkin

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Near-term applications

  • Generative Models

a.kurkin@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

andrew_kurkin.jpg
kevin_shen.jpg
Kevin Shen

External PhD Student - LIACS - Volkswagen

  • Quantum Machine Learning

  • Near-term Applications

k.shen@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

MSc Students

lindsay_spoor.jpg
Lindsay Spoor

MSc Student - LION

  • Quantum Error Correction

  • Machine Learning for Quantum Systems

  • Quantum Control

lindsayspoor@gmail.com

Hans Norg

MSc Student - LION

  • Machine Learning for Quantum Systems

  • Near-term applications

  • Hybrid Algorithm Design

hans.norg99@gmail.com

hans_norg.jpg

Fellows

Thomas O'Brien

Assistant Professor - LION and Research Scientist - Google Quantum AI

  • Quantum chemistry and simulation

  • Quantum error correction and mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

obrien@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Thomas Bäck

Professor - LIACS

  • Natural computing

  • Optimization for quantum computing

  • Quantum-enhanced optimization

t.h.w.baeck@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Francesco Buda

Assistant Professor - LIC

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Hybrid algorithm development

  • Excited state chemistry

f.buda@lic.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Florian Neukart

Assistant Professor - LIACS and Principal Scientist - Volkswagen Group

  • Quantum optimization

  • Quantum annealing

  • Industrial applications

f.neukart@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

IMG_7398.jpg
Richard Gill

Emeritus Professor - MI

  • Closing loopholes in Bell’s theorem and in Bell experiments

  • Quantum state estimation, quantum tomography

  • Statistical issues in quantum information and quantum computing

gill@math.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Former Members

Charles Moussa

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

c.moussa@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Sheir Yarkoni

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

sheir.yarkoni@volkswagen.de

radoica.jpg
Radoica Draškić

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum optimal control

Michał Pacholski

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum transport

pacholski@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Mathys Rennela

Postdoctoral Researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum-enhanced combinatorial optimization

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Near-term implementation

m.p.a.rennela@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Cameron Price

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Reduced density matrix theory

  • Convex optimization

price@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Eleanor Scerri

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum chemistry and simulation

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Near-term implementation

scerri@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Bruno Senjean

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Molecular embedding

  • Hybrid algorithm design

senjean@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

bottom of page