About us

aQa is a team of faculty, postdoctoral researchers, and students across the Leiden Institute of Physics (LION) the Leiden Institute for Advanced Computer Science (LIACS), the Leiden Institute for Chemistry (LIC), and the Leiden Mathematical Institute (MI). Please see below a list of members, along with personal research topics and contact emails.

Vedran Dunjko

Assistant Professor - LIACS

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Quantum heuristics

  • Near-term implementation

v.dunjko@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

20150720_Jordi Tura (27)_b.jpg

Jordi Tura

Assistant Professor - LION

  • Quantum algorithms

  • Near-term implementations

  • Device-independent quantum information protocols

tura@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Thomas Bäck

Professor - LIACS

  • Natural computing

  • Optimization for quantum computing

  • Quantum-enhanced optimization

t.h.w.baeck@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Thomas O'Brien

Assistant Professor - LION and Research Scientist - Google Quantum AI

  • Quantum chemistry and simulation

  • Quantum error correction and mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

obrien@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Florian Neukart

Assistant Professor - LIACS and Principal Scientist - Volkswagen Group

  • Quantum optimization

  • Quantum annealing

  • Industrial applications

f.neukart@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Francesco Buda

Assistant Professor - LIC

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Hybrid algorithm development

  • Excited state chemistry

f.buda@lic.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Stéphanie van der Pas

Assistant Professor - MI

  • Quantum state tomography

  • Bayesian statistics

  • Causality

svdpas@math.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Alfons Laarman

Assistant Professor - LIACS

  • Simulation of quantum computing

  • Parallel computing

  • Formal methods

a.w.laarman@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Bruno Senjean

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum chemistry

  • Molecular embedding

  • Hybrid algorithm design

senjean@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Mathys Rennela

Postdoctoral Researcher - LIACS

  • Quantum-enhanced combinatorial optimization

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Near-term implementation

m.p.a.rennela@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Alicja Dutkiewicz

Masters Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Quantum phase estimation

dutkiewicz@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Eleanor Scerri

Postdoctoral Researcher - LION

  • Quantum chemistry and simulation

  • Quantum machine learning

  • Near-term implementation

scerri@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Yaroslav Herasymenko

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum transport

herasymenko@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Xavier Bonet-Monroig

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Quantum error mitigation

  • Near-term implementation

bonet@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Casper Gyurik

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Quantum data analysis

  • Quantum reinforcement learning

  • Quantum-enhanced Markov chain Monte Carlo

c.f.s.gyurik@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Michał Pacholski

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementations

  • Quantum transport

pacholski@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Cameron Price

PhD Student - LION

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Reduced density matrix theory

  • Convex optimization

price@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Charles Moussa

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

c.moussa@liacs.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Sheir Yarkoni

PhD Student - LIACS

  • Near-term implementations

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Industrial applications

sheir.yarkoni@volkswagen.de

Stefano Polla

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum simulation

  • Hybrid algorithm design

  • Near-term implementation

polla@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Website

Emiel Koridon

PhD Student - LION

  • Quantum (photo)chemistry and simulation

  • Near-term applications

  • Hybrid quantum algorithms

emielkoridon@hotmail.com

Emiel_picture.jpg
Applied Quantum Algorithms 
 

A Leiden University collaboration

Leiden-University.png
lion_logo_blue1800x1080.jpg